who we are

Founded in 2012, Galveston's Own Farmers Market is a 501 (c)3 non-profit organization dedicated to connecting our community to local foods through 2 year-round weekly farmers markets, food access programming, school gardens and health & food education opportunities.


To build and sustain a local food community through a vibrant, producers-only marketplace, improved food access, and educational programming


  1. Stimulate public interest in the consumption of local farm and food products and participation in the local food economy.

  2. Provide local farmers & food producers a convenient and inexpensive place to sell their products.

  3. Strengthen the local economy by redirecting consumer’s dollars to local producers.

  4. Enhance the quality of life in Galveston and surrounding area by providing a forum for community activity, which fosters social gatherings, synergy, & interaction.

Galveston's Own Farmers Market brings locally-grown produce, prepared foods and edible farm products to residents of Galveston and the surrounding areas and provide a direct connection to vendors creating and growing fresh whole foods. We strive to foster a greater sense of community through supporting local Texas farmers and producers, and connect individuals with their local food economy.

GOFM is operated by a paid Executive Director, all-volunteer Board of Directors and countless efforts and hours from volunteers in the community. Additionally, we employ a salaried Market Manager who oversees all weekly market operations and a salaried Curriculum Coordinator for our Young Gardeners Program. Our organization is funded by weekly vendor fees, fundraising events, community donations, merchandise sales and generous grants from the Harris & Eliza Kempner Fund, the First Presbyterian Church Outreach Fund and the Moody Methodist Church Permanent Endowment Fund in Galveston.  GOFM receives no city, state or federal funding.

Executive Director:

Casey McAuliffe

Board of Directors:

Steven J. Baines, Member-at-Large

Vince Bruno, Treasurer

Dustin Henry, Member-at-Large

Alex McPhail, Member-at-Large

Elizabeth Spears, Community Dinners Director